10 years

Ten years of Influence

A winning business model.
A passionate team.

The story of Influence has it all - success, passion and pitfalls. Browse through the following for an overview of how this story evolved and an homage to the talents who made it possible.

How it started


The napkin


First client


First lay-off


Sold!... Almost


Media Prominence Score


First article


News review


Montreal, as seen from the US


The crystal ball




Quebec City-Montreal


Going abroad






Outer space


Tenth anniversary


Ten years of Influence

Most people remember where they were when the hijacked planes hit the World Trade Center on September 11, 2001. Jean-François Dumas remembers it very well, because he was busy laying the groundwork for Influence Communication.

Jean-François Dumas

"That first year, we did everything, from consulting to marketing, just to survive...", recalls Jean-François.

Just a few days later, he met Daniel Gagné in a restaurant to draft out – on a simple paper napkin – their idea for an ICE (Interactive Communication Environment). This simple sketch would become the platform that Influence still uses today to analyze media content, both printed and electronic, in 22 languages from 160 countries, and to give that content a score. That's when Influence Communication was born.

The co-founders worked tooth and nail to help Influence become the company that it is today. "That first year, we did everything, from consulting to marketing, just to survive," recalls Jean-François. "Even though we didn't have clients at the time, we began developing our main expertise by approaching various suppliers around the world."

"Even though we didn't have clients at the time, we began developing our main expertise by approaching various suppliers around the world."
Jean-François Dumas, President

Back then, companies purchased press review services from individual suppliers who specialized in, for example, Quebec-based newspapers or digital media. And if a company wanted to know what was being said about them abroad, they had to hire as many suppliers as there were countries.

Influence came forward to offer clients an all-in-one service, comprising all the services above, as well as analysis of that content. "The goal is not to know everything – it's knowing the right things," explains Jean-François. "At Influence, we set out to sell this very ambitious information brokerage service to the world's biggest corporations."

Daniel Gagné'S business card

In 2002, Daniel Gagné had to be laid off.

"But to prove our approach, we had to find a client that could help us set the standard. That's when we knocked on the door at Bombardier and offered this leader of the Quebec economy our services – absolutely free – for a six-month trial period," recalls Jean-François. "They were satisfied with the trial, but they still wanted a call for tenders process afterwards."

At that time, Influence was not yet profitable, accumulating total revenues of only $17,000 in 2002. Daniel Gagné had to be laid off. Even if Influence did finally win the Bombardier bid, creating the agency's first regular client, the two founders still thought about selling their business to another Montreal firm for the modest sum of $100,000. Thankfully, the offer was refused!

The birth of the media prominence score

The notion of a media prominence score, which is still at the heart of Influence's reputation, was first used in 2004 for a quantitative analysis. "At the beginning, we kept our cards close to the chest, because we knew we were on to something good and that others might copy it," explains Jean-François Dumas. "But in 2005, we felt confident enough to approach Charles Grandmont at Infopresse Magazine with our idea. Subsequently, the magazine published the first article describing the measurement tool that Influence now uses across all platforms."

Although the formula they use is kept under tight wraps – much like the recipe for Big Mac secret sauce – the media prominence score has literally travelled around the world; from Montreal to Abu Dhabi, with stops in Berlin and California too. In fact, for the last three years, Influence has contributed to Al Jazeera's year-end review.

A little closer to home, Quebecers have also become more familiar with the concept of the media prominence score. Each week, Influence publishes a list of the top five news stories, in order of popularity, that have most captured the media's attention. Various television and radio programs also regularly call upon Jean-François to comment on different data presented.

For example, after the 2011 federal elections, Influence indicated a strong correlation between election results and media prominence – stronger even than various election polls. In fact, Influence's projected margins of error for the last three Quebec provincial elections have been narrower than those of pollsters. "Although we are not pollsters, we can analyze the sources that most influence public opinion. Is there anyone who still doubts the impact of media on voter intention? I don't think so."

The technician behind the scenes

Thanks to numerous media appearances, Jean-François Dumas is more readily recognizable, but Daniel Gagné is the top man behind the scenes. Daniel has created all the technology that drives Influence, including everything from the delivery platform and news-sorting system to Scolarius, a software solution that evaluates how degree of education impacts an individual's ability to read and understand text. The co-founders are especially proud of this last achievement.

Daniel Gagné

Daniel has created all the technology that drives Influence.

Service is as key to the success of Influence as technology. Clients can choose from various levels of media monitoring services, depending on individual needs. For example, during a crisis, publicly-traded clients may choose "911 service", which reports everything being said about the company within minutes of publication. If a radio station in Marrakesh is talking about your company – you'll know about it.

"Many companies come to us during troubled times," reports Jean-François. "When I read a newspaper, it's always fascinating for me to evaluate what percentage of page space is being dedicated to our clients."

It's equally fascinating to note how much time Jean-François Dumas spends following the media – that is to say, quite a lot. But this is not surprising, given how profoundly involved this man is with the media. "When my son was in elementary school, all the kids were asked to talk about what their parents did. My son explained that I watched a lot of television and read many newspapers. One of his friends asked if I was unemployed!"

On September 11, 2001, the average citizen watched the hijacked planes crash into New York City's Twin Towers at least 18 times. In the meantime, thanks to the "peoplisation" of the media, Nicolas Sarkozy has become the world's most-watched personality – and for reasons other than his politics. And fifty seconds in the life of Carey Price has accumulated more media attention than all cultural coverage (across all disciplines) combined.

Salle de médias

To date, hundreds of millions of news items have been filtered through Influence's watchful gaze – some of which were unable to hold the media's attention for more than two hours. Ten years ago, we witnessed a media event that would define everything that came after. And Influence was founded to make sure that we don't miss anything ever again.

Visit Influence's Website


"Bombardier is proud to have been Influence Communication's first client."

Bombardier wishes to congratulate Influence Communication on the occasion of its 10th anniversary. In addition to the daily support we receive from Influence Communication, the staff is responsive to our special requests and helps ensure that we have the necessary tools to execute our work.

Bombardier is proud to have been Influence Communication's first client, and we extend our best wishes for the future.

Haley Dunne
Manager and Senior Spokeperson,
Public Affairs and Communications, Bombardier Aerospace

"Everything you need in one email."

Since Verbatim, the world of news monitoring, media and communications has greatly changed. A change that can be summarized in one word: Internet. And that includes social media and all the tweets that go with it too. The advantage of getting your news monitoring services from Influence is that you'll receive everything you need in one email, including radio and TV mentions, a press review written up in your preferred format and news being broadcast on the Web.

Roch Landriault
Vice President, Media Relations
National Public Relations

"The Influence Communication team uses an exacting scalpel in its post-mortem of the media."

Jean-Francois Dumas embodies the essence of Influence Communication. His analysis helps to put news into context and it's helped me to better understand the Quebec context. What do Quebecers love other than the Montreal Canadiens? Are we too egocentric? Our disinterest in world affairs left me speechless. And here I thought that Quebecers were open to the world… What a wake-up call!

In short, the Influence Communications team uses an exacting scalpel to post-mortem traditional media and to dissect information shared through new media.

Benoit Dutrizac
Animateur, 98,5 FM

"A fresh and unadulterated perspective on media and society – an impossibility before Influence Communication."

Nicolas Lacroix
journalist 93 FM

"Influence Communication offers relevant, thorough, reliable and accurate information."

As someone who oversees economic reporting for a number of Quebec media platforms, I have noticed that Influence Communication always delivers the goods. That is, they offer information that is relevant, thorough, reliable and accurate from both a journalistic and scientific point of view. This is what the media needs in order to continually offer readers and listeners credible and verified news content. Furthermore, while I was preparing my master's thesis on the quality of economic journalism in Quebec, the Influence Communication team offered me strategic information that confirmed many of the theories I was proposing about reading habits and attitudes held by Quebecers when faced with broadcast information. It was a huge turning point in my research and their contribution greatly 'influenced' the veracity and content of my thesis. Today, I want to thank them again for this valuable and relevant contribution. Thank you!

Stéphane Desjardins
Assistant Director, Argent, TVA Nouvelles

"The advertising value of a news item can often be worth several millions of dollars."

Influence Communication knew how to answer my questions about the importance and penetration of news items in the media. We sometimes forget that the advertising value of a new item can often be worth several millions of dollars…

Thank you Influence Communication!

Robert Poëti
Public security Expert

"In my opinion, Influence Communication is the best invention since TV remote control."

IC keeps a watchful eye on the media and shows us that we are a distinct media society. The weekly top five is an example of that intelligence. Thank you and congratulations on your 10th anniversary!

Marie Plourde

"An entrepreneur who taught me something."

Pierre Duhamel

"Replacing abstract notions with solid numbers."

Influence finally quotes numbers to replace the vague notions that once ruled. What were they really talking about in the media? They offer an expertise that is made all the more valuable now, following the ascent of social media.

Thank you Influence Communication!

Marie-Claude Ducas
Columnist, journalist and blogger

"For a more scientific perspective on media-related news – and for the pleasant commentator."

Steve Boudrias

"The Influence Communication radio capsule is extremely educational."

I am a regular listener of your weekly radio capsule on 98.5 FM.

I had often heard the term 'slow news day', but it wasn't until I heard the Influence Communication capsule on 98.5 FM that I truly understood what it meant. You gave concrete examples of news items – like Bye Bye 2008 – that surprisingly held media attention. Columnists and commentators talk about how newspaper headlines influence the political scene, but only Influence Communication explains how and why certain headlines make the newspaper in the first place. Extremely educational!

Keep up the good work!

François-Guy Gallant
Listener, 98.5FM

"A window on world news."

Influence gives us a window on – and a filter of – world news. Your comments are always relevant, interesting and inspire further reflection. Thanks for sharing your knowledge with us!

Sébastien Lauzon

2001 – How it started

On September 11, 2001, Jean-François Dumas is laying the groundwork for Influence Communication – while the world's attention is turned to the unforgettable event that will define the decade.

2001 – The napkin

The ICE system is drafted – on a paper napkin – in a Greek restaurant on Prince Arthur Street.

2002 – First client

Bombardier is Influence Communication's first (free) client, helping the young company develop its business model. In 2011, Bombardier is still in the client roster.

2002 – First lay-off

Due to financial difficulties, Daniel Gagné, who is the co-founder of Influence, is laid off.

2003 – Sold!... Almost

The co-owners of Influence want to sell their company to another Montreal firm for $100,000. The offer is… refused!

2004 – Media prominence score

The media prominence score method is used for the first time in a quantitative analysis prepared for a client.

2005 – First article

Charles Grandmont writes the first article about Influence Communication and media prominence score in Infopresse Magazine.

2005 – News review

Publication of the first News review covering news items in Quebec – a communication that would eventually expand into Canada and the rest of the world.

2006 – Montreal, as seen from the US

Influence publishes a report on how Montreal is seen by U.S. media. The study surveyed 5,000 American journalists for data.

2007 – Looking into the crystal ball

Influence correctly predicts Quebec election results for the first time – and with a smaller margin of error than the big polls.

2007 – Toronto-Montreal

Publication of a report on how Toronto and Montreal are seen by media sources outside of Canada. Hogtown has double the visibility, but Montreal is better known for tourism.

2007 – Quebec City-Montreal

Influence adds flames to the rivalry between Quebec City and Montreal (or is it Montreal and Quebec City?) by trying to identify where it all started. Apparently, the fault lies with radio stations… in Quebec City!

2007 – Going abroad

Influence Communication's international annual review premieres at the News Exchange in Berlin.

2008 - Recognition

Influence Communication launches the Arab Broadcast Forum in Abu Dhabi.
Jean-François Dumas is introduced by Ban Ki-Moon, Secretary General of the United Nations!

2009 – Scolarius

Influence publicly introduces Scolarius, a tool for measuring literacy. www.scolarius.com.

2010 - Outer space

Influence sends its press review to Guy Laliberté, CEO of Cirque du Soleil, who will receive updates throughout his voyage aboard the International Space Station.

2011 – Tenth anniversary

Influence celebrates its tenth anniversary – and the maturity that comes with it! The company has built a prestigious client list and is often called upon by the media to provide expert commentary.

10 ans

Influence 10 ans

Un modèle d'affaires gagnant et une équipe
de passionnés

L'histoire d'Influence est composée de succès, d'embûches et surtout de passion. Voici un site qui souligne l'évolution de cette bonne idée tout en faisant un clin d'œil à quelques-uns de ses artisans.

Le début

2001

La « napkin »

2001

Premier client

2002

Mise à pied

2002

Vente avortée

2003

Le poids médias

2004

Influence fait parler

2005

Le bilan

2005

Montréal,
vue des USA

2006

La boule de cristal

2007

Toronto-Montréal

2007

Québec-Montréal

2007

À l'international

2007

Consécration

2008

Scolarius

2009

Dans l'espace

2010

Dix bougies

2011

Dix ans d’Influence

La plupart des gens se souviennent où ils étaient lorsque des avions piratés se sont enfoncés dans les tours jumelles du World Trade Center, le 11 septembre 2001. Jean-François Dumas, lui, était en train d’imaginer ce qui allait devenir Influence Communication.

Jean-François Dumas

« La première année, nous faisions n'importe quoi pour survivre, de la consultation au marketing... », se souvient Jean-François.

Quelques jours plus tard, lui et Daniel Gagné se rencontraient dans un restaurant pour jeter les bases, sur une simple serviette de papier, du système ICE (Interactive Communication Environment), la plateforme qui allait éventuellement leur permettre d’analyser le contenu de médias écrits et électroniques de 160 pays en 22 langues et de donner un poids à la nouvelle. Influence Communication était née.

Mais les deux fondateurs ont trimé dur pour qu’Influence devienne l’entreprise que l’on connaît aujourd’hui. « La première année, nous faisions n’importe quoi pour survivre, de la consultation au marketing, se souvient Jean-François. Pendant ce temps, nous développions notre expertise principale en approchant différents fournisseurs dans le monde, même si nous n’avions pas encore de clients! »

À l’époque, plusieurs entreprises offraient des services de revues de presse. Un fournisseur se spécialisait dans les journaux québécois, un autre dans les médias électroniques, et pour savoir ce qui se disait sur eux dans les autres pays, les clients s’abonnaient à autant de fournisseurs dans autant de pays.

Influence proposait de regrouper ces différents services et de devenir le guichet unique de ses clients, en plus d’analyser toute cette information pour lui donner une valeur ajoutée. « Le défi n’est pas de tout savoir, mais de savoir la bonne chose », explique Jean-François. C’est donc un ambitieux service de courtage d’information, s’adressant aux plus grandes corporations de ce monde, que devait vendre Influence.

« Nous développions notre expertise principale en approchant différents fournisseurs dans le monde, même si nous n'avions pas encore de clients! »
Jean-François Dumas, président

« Pour montrer notre savoir-faire, nous devions trouver un client étalon », explique Jean-François Dumas. C’est alors qu’il frappe à la porte d’un fleuron de l’économie québécoise, Bombardier, pour lui offrir ses services gratuitement durant six mois. « Ils étaient satisfaits de l’essai, se rappelle-t-il, mais ils voulaient aller en appel d’offres pour continuer le service. »

Carte de Daniel Gagné

En 2002, Daniel Gagné doit être mis à pied.

Pendant ce temps, Influence ne roule pas sur l’or. En 2002, Influence affiche des revenus totaux de 17 000 $. Daniel Gagné doit être mis à pied. Et même si Influence remporte finalement l’appel d’offres auprès de Bombardier, qui devient son premier client régulier, les deux fondateurs songent à vendre leur entreprise à une firme de Montréal pour la modique somme de 100 000 $. Heureusement pour la suite des choses, l’offre est refusée.

Le poids médias arrive

C’est en 2004 que la notion de poids médias, qui fera plus tard la réputation d’Influence, est utilisée pour la première fois dans une analyse quantitative. « Au début, nous nous gardions une petite gêne, explique Jean-François Dumas. Nous savions que nous tenions un concept intéressant, qui pouvait être copié, mais en 2005, nous étions assez solides pour approcher Charles Grandmont (aujourd'hui rédacteur-en-chef adjoint à L'actualité), à la revue Infopresse, avec notre idée. » Un premier article sera publié, mentionnant la méthode de mesure aujourd’hui utilisée sur toutes les tribunes.

Aujourd’hui, bien que sa méthode de calcul soit tenue aussi secrète que la recette de sauce à Big Mac, la notion de poids médias a littéralement fait le tour du monde, partant de Montréal à Abu Dhabi en passant par Berlin et la Californie. Depuis trois ans, Influence participe à la revue de l’année de la chaîne Al Jazeera.

Ici, les Québécois sont devenus familiers avec la notion de poids médias. Chaque semaine, Influence publie son top 5 de l’actualité, qui classe, par ordre d’importance, les nouvelles qui ont retenu l’attention des médias. Jean-François est régulièrement appelé à commenter ces données à différentes émissions de radio et de télévision.

Après les élections fédérales de 2011, Influence révèle d’ailleurs une plus grande corrélation entre le poids médias et l’issue du vote qu’avec les résultats des différents sondages. En effet, depuis les trois dernières élections ayant eu lieu au Québec, la marge d’erreur a été plus mince du côté d’Influence que chez plusieurs sondeurs. « Nous ne sommes pas sondeurs, mais nous analysons ceux qui influencent l’opinion publique. Peut-on encore douter de l’influence des médias sur les intentions de vote? Je ne pense pas. »

Le technicien de l’ombre

Si l’on connait déjà Jean-François Dumas pour ses nombreuses apparitions à la télévision, Daniel Gagné, lui, demeure plutôt dans l’ombre. C’est pourtant lui qui a conçu la mécanique informatique derrière Influence, de la plateforme de livraison au système de tri de données en passant par Scolarius, un logiciel permettant d’évaluer le degré de scolarité requis pour comprendre un texte, l’un des nombreux outils qui font la fierté des deux entrepreneurs.

Daniel Gagné

C'est Daniel Gagné qui a conçu la mécanique informatique derrière Influence.

La technique est une raison importante derrière le succès d’Influence, mais le service aussi. De multiples niveaux de surveillance médiatique sont offerts selon les besoins particuliers du client. En temps de crise, le service « 911 », auquel ont recours des sociétés cotées en bourse lorsqu’elles sont dans l’eau chaude, permet de savoir tout ce qui se dit sur un client dans un délai de quelques minutes. On a parlé de vous sur une radio à Marrakech? On va tout faire pour vous trouver l’extrait.

« Plusieurs entreprises font appel à nos services lorsqu’elles sont dans le trouble, révèle Jean-François Dumas. Lorsque je regarde un journal, je m'amuse parfois à évaluer le pourcentage d'une page consacrée à nos clients », dit-il.

On pourrait aussi s’amuser à évaluer le pourcentage de temps qu’occupent les médias dans la vie de Jean-François Dumas, c’est-à-dire beaucoup. Difficile pour l’homme qui baigne ainsi dans l’actualité de décrocher un instant de la nouvelle. « Lorsque l’un de mes fils était au primaire, raconte-t-il, il devait dire à la classe ce que faisait son papa comme travail. Il a expliqué que je regardais la télé et que je lisais les journaux. Un de ses camarades lui a alors demandé si j’étais au chômage! »

Le 11 septembre 2001, le citoyen moyen voyait 18 fois les avions fracasser les tours jumelles de New York. Depuis, Nicolas Sarkozy est devenu la personnalité la plus médiatisée pour des raisons non politiques en raison du culte de la personnalité des médias. Cinquante secondes dans la vie de Carey Price ont retenu plus d’attention qu’une semaine entière de couverture culturelle, toutes disciplines confondues.

Salle de médias

Des centaines de millions de nouvelles sont maintenant passées sous le radar d’Influence, certaines ne retenant pas l’attention des médias plus de deux heures. Il y a dix ans, l’événement médiatique qui allait définir la décennie avait lieu. Et pour vous assurer que vous ne rateriez rien, Influence était fondée.

Visitez le site d'Influence

Témoignages

«  Bombardier est fière d’avoir été le premier client d’Influence Communication. »

Bombardier tient à féliciter Influence Communication à l’occasion de son dixième anniversaire. En plus du soutien qu’il nous apporte chaque jour, le personnel d’Influence Communication est attentif à nos demandes spéciales et veille à ce que nous ayons tous les outils nécessaires pour accomplir notre travail.

Bombardier est fière d’avoir été le premier client d’Influence Communication, et nous exprimons nos meilleurs vœux pour l’avenir.

Haley Dunne
Chef et porte-parole principale,
Affaires publiques et communications, Bombardier Aéronautique

« Le tout dans un seul courriel. »

Depuis Verbatim, les choses ont bien changé dans le monde du monitorage, des médias et le monde des communications d’ailleurs. Cela se résume en un mot : Internet, et maintenant les médias sociaux avec tous les tweets qui l’accompagnent.  L’avantage de faire affaire avec Influence pour des services de monitorage réside dans le fait que dans un seul courriel le matin nous pouvons obtenir les mentions Radio / Télé, la revue de presse écrite dans le format désiré et les nouvelles diffusées sur Internet.

Roch Landriault
Vice-président, Relations médias
Le Cabinet de relations publiques NATIONAL

« L'équipe d'Influence Communication travaille avec des scalpels pour faire l'autopsie des médias. »

Jean-Francois Dumas incarne Influence Communication. Il remet en contexte les nouvelles dans l'actualité et à travers son analyse, j'en suis venu à mieux comprendre le Québec. Qu'est-ce qui intéresse les Québécois en dehors du CH de Montréal? Sommes-nous si nombrilistes? Le désintérêt pour l'actualité internationale m'a renversé. Moi qui croyais le Québec ouvert sur le monde... Méchante claque!

En fin de compte, l'équipe d'Influence Communication travaille avec des scalpels pour faire l'autopsie des médias traditionnels et dissèque l'information transmise par les nouveaux médias.

Benoit Dutrizac
Animateur, 98,5 FM

« Un éclairage totalement inédit sur les médias et la société, impossible avant l'arrivée d'Influence Communication. »

Nicolas Lacroix
journaliste FM 93

« Influence Communication offre une information pertinente, fouillée, fiable et précise. »

Comme cadre de plusieurs médias québécois dans le domaine économique, je puis constater aujourd'hui qu'Influence Communication  a toujours livré la marchandise, c'est-à-dire offert une information pertinente, fouillée, fiable et précise d'un point de vue scientifique et journalistique. Ce sont toutes des qualités recherchées par les médias, qui cherchent sans cesse à offrir à leurs lecteurs et auditeurs des sources crédibles pour étayer leurs contenus. De plus, pour la préparation de mon mémoire de maîtrise, portant sur la qualité du journalisme économique pratiqué au Québec, l'équipe d'Influence Communications m'a offert une contribution stratégique, qui a confirmé plusieurs postulats que j'avais avancés sur les habitudes de lecture et les attitudes des Québécois face à l'information diffusée par les médias. Ce fut un tournant de ma recherche et les travaux d'Influence ont fortement « influencé » le propos et la teneur de mon mémoire. Aujourd'hui, je les remercie pour cette contribution de grande qualité et pertinence. Merci encore.

Stéphane Desjardins
Directeur adjoint, franchise Argent, TVA Nouvelles

« La valeur publicitaire d'une nouvelle peut parfois valoir plusieurs millions. »

Influence Communication a su répondre à mon questionnement quant à l'importance et au niveau de pénétration d'une nouvelle dans les médias. On l'oublie, mais la valeur publicitaire d'une nouvelle peut parfois valoir plusieurs millions…

Merci Influence Communication!

Robert Poëti
Expert en sécurité publique

« Pour moi, Influence Communication est la plus belle invention depuis la zappette. »

IC pose un regard sur les médias qui prouve que nous sommes une société médiatiquement distincte. Les palmarès hebdomadaires en témoignent intelligemment. Merci et bon anniversaire!

Marie Plourde
journaliste et animatrice

« Un entrepreneur qui m'a appris quelque chose. »

Pierre Duhamel, journaliste, conférencier et consultant
journaliste

« Des chiffres pour remplacer les vagues perceptions. »

Influence met enfin des chiffres, pour remplacer les vagues perceptions de naguère: de quoi au juste a-t-il surtout été question dans les médias? Expertise d’autant plus précieuse qu’ils arrivent maintenant à l’étendre aux médias sociaux.

Marie-Claude Ducas
Chroniqueuse, Journaliste, Blogueuse

« Pour un point de vue plus scientifique de l'actualité médiatique – et pour le gazouilleur sympathique. »

Steve Boudrias
twitter.com/aquaplanant

« Les chroniques d'Influence Communication : extrêmement instructif. »

À titre de citoyen, j’écoute vos chroniques à toutes les semaines au 98,5 FM.

J'avais entendu parler des périodes de "slow news", mais les chroniques d'Influence Communication au 98.5FM m'ont fait réellement comprendre ce que c'était avec des exemples concrets de nouvelles qui ont eu une attention médiatique surprenante, comme le Bye Bye 2008.

Bien des chroniqueurs et commentateurs parlent de comment un grand titre dans les journaux influencera la scène politique, mais Influence Communication explique comment et pourquoi les nouvelles se retrouvent dans le journal en premier lieu. Extrêmement instructif!

Continuez votre excellent travail!

François-Guy Gallant
Auditeur du 98,5FM

« Une fenêtre vers les nouvelles du monde. »

Puisque vous êtes une fenêtre, un filtre vers les nouvelles du monde. C'est toujours pertinent, intéressant et porte régulièrement à la réflexion. Merci de partager votre expérience!

Sébastien Lauzon
www.facebook.com/sebaslauzon

« Bon anniversaire à Influence Communication ! »

Nous vivons dans un siècle où l'influence - celle qui marque nos sociétés, leur fonctionnement- , est la communication. La communication non seulement en tant qu'outil technologique, mais aussi, et surtout, en tant qu'outil de pouvoir. Pouvoir politique, pouvoir social, pouvoir économique...pouvoir citoyen. Ainsi, dans ce monde éclaté où tourne sans cesse et plus que jamais cette grande roue qu'est l'information, il fait bon d'avoir et de conserver des points repères, histoire de bien balancer et nuancer l'impact d'une nouvelle et la force que celle-ci possède réellement. À sa façon, Influence Communication jette ce regard sur ces nouvelles qui nous "bombardent" au quotidien et d'heure en heure, en nous permettant de prendre le recul nécessaire afin de mieux en peser son réel "pouvoir." Bon anniversaire à Influence Communication !

Martin Simoneau
@M_Simoneau

2001 – Le début

Le 11 septembre 2001, Jean-François Dumas est à imaginer Influence Communication, au moment où se déclenche l'événement médiatique qui va définir la décennie.

2001 – La « napkin »

Le système ICE voit le jour… sur une serviette de table, dans un restaurant grec de la rue Prince-Arthur.

2002 – Premier client

Bombardier est le premier client régulier (et gratuit!) d'Influence Communication, qui peaufine son modèle d'affaires. En 2011, Bombardier est toujours au poste.

2002 – Mise à pied

Daniel Gagné, qui deviendra éventuellement co-propriétaire d'Influence, doit être mis à pied, tellement la situation financière est précaire.

2003 – Vente avortée

Les propriétaires d'Influence offrent de vendre leur entreprise à une firme de Montréal, pour 100 000 $. L'offre est re-fu-sée…

2004 – Le poids médias

Pour la première fois, la méthode du poids médias est utilisée dans une analyse quantitative préparée pour un client.

2005 – Influence fait parler

Première mention d'Influence Communication et du poids médias dans un article d'Infopresse, sous la plume de Charles Grandmont.

2005 – Le bilan

Publication du premier bilan de l'actualité du Québec, une habitude qui sera éventuellement étendue au Canada et au reste du monde.

2006 – Montréal, vue des USA

Influence rend publique son étude sur la médiatisation de Montréal aux États-Unis. 5000 journaux américains ont été recensés pour l'étude.

2007 – La boule de cristal

Influence prédit pour la première fois le résultat des élections au Québec, à l'intérieur de la marge d'erreur des grands sondages.

2007 – Toronto-Montréal

Publication d'une étude sur la médiatisation de Toronto et de Montréal à l'extérieur du Canada. La Ville Reine est presque deux fois plus visible, mais Montréal remporte la palme pour le tourisme.

2007 – Québec-Montréal

Influence jette un peu d'huile sur le feu de la rivalité Québec-Montréal (ou Montréal-Québec?) en tentant d'identifier les coupables. C'est la faute de la radio… de Québec!

2007 – À l'international

Le bilan international de l'année est présenté pour la première fois à Berlin, au News Exchange.

2008 - Consécration

Influence Communication ouvre le Arab Broadcast Forum, à Abu Dhabi.
Jean-François Dumas est présenté par… Ban Ki-Moon, secrétaire général de l'ONU!

2009 – Scolarius

Influence met au point son outil de mesure de littératie, Scolarius. www.scolarius.com.

2010 - Dans l'espace

Influence envoie sa revue de presse en orbite au patron du Cirque du soleil, Guy Laliberté, qui la recevra tout au long de son séjour à bord de la station spatiale internationale.

2011 – Dix bougies

Influence célèbre son dixième anniversaire et la maturité qui vient avec. L'entreprise compte des clients prestigieux, et son expertise est souvent reprise dans les médias.